Happy Accidents

22 Aug

Isn’t it nice when your garden surprises you? In a good way no less! 

There have been a few interesting combinations of blooms in the perennial garden.  

Most were not intentional and I would like to try to remember some of them so that I can be more intentional with these surprises in the future.  

bee balm, globe thistle

Bee Balm, Globe Thistle & some form of Rudbeckia (I think? I am not sure exactly what it is)  This is a garden where there is no plan for the future and anything goes.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 8.09.53 PM

Purple Geranium (which spreads everywhere I don’t want it) & Black eyed Susan

yellow and red and tall

Rudbeckia Laciniata ‘Goldball’ & Canna Lilly reach for the sky together.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 8.11.18 PM

A wild cucumber vine popped up in the middle of the front garden so I added support for it.

 I am very partial to these white flowering wild vines.  The seed pods look like dried cucumbers and are very cool.

tiny alum with shasta daisies

Miniature Alum with Shasta Daisies that spread from a neighbouring bed. 

dragon snaps and black eyed susan

My favourite surprise are the snapdragons which Claire insisted our garden needed because you can pinch the blooms like a mouth and make it talk.  

I love these paired with the Black Eyed Susans right now.  

I think surprises might be better than cake.  What do you think?

17 Responses to “Happy Accidents”

  1. Boomdeeadda August 22, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    All your flowering plants look really healthy. Not a damaged leaf in site. I’m with Claire, snapdragons are my favourite annual along with alyssum. I love the scent and your colour there is so pretty. I was also admiring your purple cone flower, mine never did take off. I planted it several years in a row. Maybe I’ll have better luck in the city.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:07 am #

      I have been a worm and beetle crusher this year- but really the bugs have not been nearly as bad as they have been in the past. I do have a new love for snapdragons -perhaps it is just that we have had the perfect amount of rain all summer and everyones annuals have gotten so big! I hope you do have luck with the purple cone flower in the city now. I do not see why not- lots of mulch might make it hate your winters a little less than you do? :) Good luck!

  2. bittster August 22, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    Love all the colors!
    What is it about the wild cucumber vine that makes you want to keep it!? I also had one show up each of the last couple years, and I just can’t bring myself to rip it out either. I may trim it back, but it always stays. I’ve never noticed the fruits, but I’ll have to keep my eyes open this year.
    Also thanks for the ID, I never really knew what it was.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:09 am #

      I like to keep it because it’s very lacy and pretty with it’s white flowers and the dried prickly cucumber pods are so weird! I see them starting to form now- i will have to take a picture. Very cool that you have them too and protect them- Go look RIGHT NOW! maybe you can see those prickly cucumber pods. :) Where are you?

  3. Born To Organize August 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    What a gorgeous assortment of flowers! Your children also have good taste and an eye for color. I too like snapdragons. My dad grew them in our Ontario garden when we were young as well. Lots of good memories.

    One of the great aspects of a blog: you now have dates and photos to corroborate what works in your garden. Score!!!

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:11 am #

      Yes, no reason to forget anything ever if I have time to go back and read what I have written! LOL. Maybe snapdragons love Ontario as I did not know that, do you grow them in CA still?

  4. Cathy August 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm #

    You’ve got some lovely combinations there! Most of my happy combinations are accidental too. LOL! Love those snapdragons…. your daughter is so right. I still find myself playing with them at my age too! ;-) P.S. Surprises are nearly always nice…. cake is pretty high up on the list though. :)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:13 am #

      What a big kid you are Cathy! That’s great to hear! Surprises are what keep us all gardening no doubt. Cake should be pretty high up on your list since you have several yummy kinds posted on your blog!! I always want to make what you are making!

      • Cathy August 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

        ;-)

  5. Chloris August 22, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

    Lots of colour and some great combinations.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:13 am #

      Thanks Chloris, They really were all big surprises to me- particularly the snapdragons!

  6. silverbells2012 August 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm #

    Definitely agree with you on the surprises. Who needs a formally planned garden? Probably better for wildlife to go for more random as well!

    I used to love snap dragons. Must get some for my daughter :-)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:15 am #

      Well even the word ‘formal’ bores me right now! Random is greatly more fun I agree. I hope you do get some- actually a lot of snapdragons for your daughter- they were the most enjoyable and colourful surprise of all!

      • silverbells2012 August 28, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

        I am sure she will love them – next year then!

  7. Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread August 28, 2014 at 7:32 am #

    I like variety in the garden. Your flowers are beautiful. And, I’m with Claire – every garden needs some snapdragons. :-)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 11:16 am #

      Thanks Judy. You’re right every garden needs snapdragons, have you got them too?

      • Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread August 28, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

        I haven’t had any since my granddaughter was younger and she had to have her ‘talking plants.’ :-) But, I love them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

