House Painting Fun

20 Aug

 

The house is being repainted!! YAY! And this time its not me (and the oodles of friends and family who helped us) who are doing it, which is even better!!

 

We are changing the colours quite a bit and this has me actually really nervous. I find myself looking at houses as we drive by them trying to pinpoint what I like and don’t like about their exteriors. It hasn’t been helpful in the least really.  No two houses are identical, and there are so many things that I like about every house I see. I could look at houses on a long drive all day long.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.31.09 PM

Here is the original paint job well worn out- 12 years ago this is the house as it looked.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.30.45 PM

Front Porch

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.29.09 PM

The Primer is starting to go on.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.30.27 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.34.28 PM

The Front porch freshly painted, but without accent colours.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.34.18 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.28.20 PM

Freshly painted 11 years ago. When we first painted the house it was in terrible shape- but our paint job lasted the 7-10 years it was supposed to and now we have stretched it to 11.  (it really should have been done a few years ago)

This was the pallet I used

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.06.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 3.55.10 PMAnd now the paint is faded and peeling in many placesScreen Shot 2014-08-18 at 3.54.30 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-18 at 3.54.08 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-18 at 4.25.16 PM

Back then I chose a multitude of colours and referenced the book “Painted Ladies” to help figure out how to paint a victorian home.  Now we are going in a different direction and trying to simplify the house by narrowing the colours down to two. The yellow is staying (HC-31) and all the white/green plus all of the porches and window sills will be Sherwin Wiliams Porpoise. I really felt that these key areas needed to pop. It might not make complete sense all at once because we are redoing the exterior of a 1980’s addition in the next little while (see left side of house exterior) as well and the colour of it will tie in to the new paint scheme. (Note: I had a designers assistance and encouragement with this colour choice)

I guess I will be holding my breath until this is done and I pray to heaven above that this was a good decision. EEEK!

It’s going to be dramatic!

What’s the last thing you were stressed about painting?

 

14 Responses to “House Painting Fun”

  1. Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread August 20, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    I love to paint but always stress over the colors and whether when I’m done I will still like it. :-) But, I know you’re going to love your choices.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

      I love the smell of fresh paint– i think that takes the edge off some of the stress. Just kidding!!

  2. wegroroses August 20, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

    aw yes I remermber it well, up to the third storey eves with you in the boom truck, if i remember correctly you were expecting Alex at the time, however you kept that little dity secret until the job was nearly complete.
    My biggest stress about painting is choosing colours that flow well together, oh and getting someone to paint the really high places ;-)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      Umm, yes. That’s a true story. It was torture keeping that secret, i don’t know why I did. I guess I didn’t want anyone telling me I couldn’t paint the house because I was pregnant. Not having to paint the really high places this time was the biggest plus… apparently we didn’t do such a good job where we couldn’t reach. You are great at painting and wallpaper and I always have your number on hand. :)

  3. silverbells2012 August 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    Looks like a big job but you have a beautiful house. Your porch roof looks like the colour I am doing my front door :-)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      Our paint colour pretty much matches the roof. Its a great tone that seems to go with everything. I hope you like it in the end too!

      • silverbells2012 August 28, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

        I do, I do. Almost finished the front door now!

  4. Chris August 20, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    We hemmed and hawed about the color choice for the exterior of our house when we built it a few years ago. Originally it was going to be barn red. In the end we went even more dramatic by selecting Sherwin Williams Urbane Bronze SW7048 – a dark charcoal color. We love it. And honestly, once it’s painted, I hardly think about it at all.

    You’re going to love that porpoise color, and with the yellow it will be a nice mix, with a subtle, attractive nod to the 80’s actually.

    Love the architecture of your home. Amp up the exterior on that addition! Also, ever think about shutters for the main house windows?

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

      I accidentally told the painters that the colour i was using was Urbane bronze!! Which is one shade darker on the colour wheel than this. For some reason that colour chip was laying around and I didn’t know it. It looked like the Porpoise colour to me at the time. And now you are the second person I have come across to tell me that you used the Urbane Bronze!! Maybe i should have stuck with that accident!? I am not sure I want to nod anything to the 80’s even though I liked them. LOL But its better than painting the eaves white or all grey because that would have given me a heart attack. The addition will be torn off shortly and rebuilt with a higher ceiling and a walkout from the main floor, it will be cladded and painted all SW 7047. Stay tuned– I am trying to move my plants out of the way of this future mess right now.
      I have thought about Shutters before- but never came to a real conclusion on them. There are so many windows I wouldn’t know where to start and stop with them… they are maybe too formal for me? But i certainly like houses that have them when they are the right size and colour. Exteriors are challenging– but yours turned out perfect!

  5. Born To Organize August 21, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    I think you’ve taken a wise approach. Any touch up you need to do over the years will be easier, too. I like the colors, before and now. Best of luck. I’m glad you’ve hired out for the job.

    We’re having our exterior repainted in the next few weeks, but using close to the same colors from the last time. Our first color choices didn’t work well with the colors of the neighboring houses, something I failed to consider. Live and learn.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

      I wouldn’t have thought to think about neighbouring houses either Alys! Hmm, interesting. I think you should just do what you want and if their houses don’t look good they should repaint?? LOL no?? hah The job is done and looks good, Pics to come tomorrow.

      • Born To Organize September 5, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

        I love the finished house, D. It looks wonderful.

        We painted hours the same color after all the hemming and hawing. I’m so glad to have it done. I’m still picking up chipped paint from the back garden. I don’t know why they didn’t use a drop cloth. Gradually it’s all come back together.

      • gardensunshine September 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

        Glad your is done too. Well, sometimes you just choose the right colours the first time! Hope the paint chips disappear. that is one thing i haven’t noticed around here, but maybe my garden is hiding them well.

      • Born To Organize September 16, 2014 at 8:27 pm #

        I think you had a more conscientious painter. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

