In a Vase on Monday: Three pairs of Kids Eyes

18 Aug

 I asked each of my children to go out in the garden and make a bouquet of what ever they wanted.  There were a lot of questions. Can I really pick anything I want to.  Even these big pink flowers? Even that? Yes, Anything! 

Just like a kid with a crayon in hand, they are much less limited with their imaginations than say us ‘supposed grown ups’ can be.summer flowers in a vase

(I have just made this collection my desktop background)

coneflower, black eyed susan, globe thistle, phlox

By: Claire

summer flowers in a vase

By: Claire

Perennial Hibiscus Flower

By: Alex

summer flowers in a vase

By: Spencer

Summer flowers

By: Alex

Ceramic monster with flowers

Spencer’s Flowers with his handmade ceramic monster.

 What they came up with has filled the house with colourful cheer and I know they are really proud of what they created! Plus did I mention it kept them busy for 10 whole minutes?

Thank you to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting “In a Vase on Monday”, which challenges us to find flowers for cutting from our gardens This week she didn’t forget her greens!!… it is a very enjoyable challenge for everyone… Take a look at some of the others this week linking in to her site here.

28 Responses to “In a Vase on Monday: Three pairs of Kids Eyes”

  1. Donna@GardensEyeView August 18, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

    Oh Diane these are perfection indeed. I agree they have so much more freedom to pick what they like and not what we think would go together…just go with abandon into the garden pick what you like and make a bouquet…yes indeed perfection!

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:58 pm #

      Kids really do have more freedom don’t they? I hate to say it, but i wouldn’t have come up with this on my own. LOL. They should bottle all that creativity and sell it to us adults.

  2. silverbells2012 August 18, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

    How adorable! I hope your children keep thinking outside the box – the colours do look so vibrant.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

      We say that all the time, and i am sure you think the same… I hope they hold on to that creativity… its too bad that we all loose a little of that reckless abandon as we get older…

  3. Christina August 18, 2014 at 4:27 pm #

    What a lovely idea to let your children fill the vases, they’re lovely! I’m sure they had a great time (even if it was only 10 minutes).

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

      They fill vases without being asked now, which is nice!

  4. Cathy August 18, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

    That’s a brilliant idea… your little flower arrangers are very talented and have created some wonderful vases! :)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

      When they hear that someone else things they are talented they can’t help beam from ear to ear! :) Thanks Cathy.

  5. AnnetteM August 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    What a great idea – they have all created really bright fun vases.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks Annette. They lasted a pretty long time around the house too.

  6. Cathy August 18, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

    I am so pleased that you gave them this challenge, as it is an eye opener to us all – presumably they chose the vases too? What joyful creations they have achieved – please thank Alex, Spencer and Claire for their contributions :)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

      They did argue about who got what vase as well–Figures! but we got it all sorted out! :)

  7. Kris P August 18, 2014 at 8:40 pm #

    The kids did a great job, Diane! Maybe you’ve created a budding horticulturist or botanist among them too.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

      Well, I do have little miss Claire helping me turn sod and move plants around. I don’t even have to ask… this is a good sign.

  8. Kimberley at Cosmos and Cleome August 18, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    Very nice jobs by your kids! It reminds me of when I was a little girl visiting my grandmother. She had a nice collection of small vases and I would go to her gardens to fill them. She never fussed about what I cut. Good memories.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

      Aww, those are good memories! I will have to keep letting them do that.

  9. Boomdeeadda August 18, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    You’re just the funnest mom. What a cute idea. I see they’ve picked up a few tips watching the master (that being you). They look spectacular all bundled together too. I’m amazed at the variety from your very own garden. The Poppies are spectacular. Very creative monster too Spencer, I like the eyes. He looks friendly enough so I’ll assume he’s a good kind of monster. xoK

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

      I don’t think you can appreciate the variety until you pick them like that. Another good reason to do it. And yes Spencer says it is a good monster… we wouldn’t want scary dreams.

  10. Chloris August 19, 2014 at 4:11 am #

    I love the colour combinations your children chose. What a lovely idea letting your children arrange the flowers. They are delightful. Spencer’ s monster is very impressive.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

      Thanks Chloris. The kids have been building with clay with their grandmother for a few months now and are getting quite good at it. Makes me jealous! :)

  11. Anna August 19, 2014 at 5:55 am #

    Three very special arrangements. No wonder you that the top photo is now your desktop background. Wishing all your children a lifetime of fun enjoying colour, scent and flowers.

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

      Thank you Anna, The photos will be a shock to look at in the dead of winter won’t they? ha:)

  12. wegroroses August 19, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    I love the colorful com binations, Alex,s contrasting enormous to small, and claires pinks, they are so creative and it does show that you ha e quite a variety in your garden care to share? ;-)

    • gardensunshine August 28, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

      I can share what ever you need. Things are big enough to divide out now. I have millions of lavender and rose of sharon seedlings for some reason and what ever else you can think of.

  13. Born To Organize August 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

    I love this fun challenge! You’ve got talented and creative children, following in your capable footsteps. These are beautifully done. No wonder you’ve created a screensaver from the photos. This makes my heart sing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

