Vegetable Garden (90 Days) Week 12

25 Jul

Things in the vegetable garden have taken an unexpected turn.  Never before have I had to share this yard with so many creatures, the worst I thought being the groundhog that ate all the broccoli and cabbage (Not once BUT TWICE! I replanted all of it in early July)groundhog damage… UNTIL there was an entire skunk population! Skunks like to dig, we have always seen signs of having skunks with various holes in the yard. But then suddenly every night we could see them. Four or five of them in the yard, they didn’t care at all about us, the cats or the chickens.

Then BAM! there were cute little baby skunks everywhere! GAH. Why skunks are so cute I will never know. But the skunks have dug up almost everything in the vegetable garden, there are holes everywhere. Bean seeds and carrots, potatoes dug out, teeth holes in my sprinkler system. Oy Vey, I really had no idea how destructive they could be. I set a trap in the garden and what I caught was a racoon, I am sure he was also partly to blame. Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 11.52.28 AM   The groundhog has eluded me and is only looking more plump. I just saw him waddle across the lawn as I sit here!! Bloody Hell (but so cute!). Anyways!!….

We have been able to get many things from the garden still. Yummy peas (although right now it looks like an elephant sat on them), lots of turnip and Royal burgundy and green beans. Lots of tomatoes and squash coming on.

I still see no sign of garlic again– the bulbs are still there- and aren’t rotted but I wonder yet again what is it that garlic wants from me?? Just grow already as you are taking up valuable veggie space!

still no signs of garlic

We have also been busy in the yard with 15 yards of top soil that was delivered a week ago, mainly to fill in the holes left everywhere by the big trees that were cut down.  We probably needed about 5 yards for that but I *accidently on purpose* (-it’s special female trait) rounded up to 15 yards.  There are gardens that I want to make!  The kids have been begging to shovel the dirt and take it where it needs to go every night. It is the best backyard activity for kids ever! Who knew? dirt pile

Maybe this rainbow is a sign that things will get better in the veggie garden. :) 

beautiful rainbow

Which critter do you wish only existed mythically at the end of a rainbow?

 

9 Responses to “Vegetable Garden (90 Days) Week 12”

  1. Cathy July 25, 2014 at 11:36 am #

    Slugs and snails! They are so small and yet devastating! At least you have managed to get quite a harvest. Well done for persevering!

    • gardensunshine July 25, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

      Slugs and snails aren’t my friends anymore either. i used to think they were kind of cute. ha. Little did I know! Innocence is bliss.

  2. Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread July 25, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

    Skunks – wow. I thought Japanese Beetles, tomato horn worms, and slugs were the worst, but I think you win the award for ugly garden pests.

    • gardensunshine July 25, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

      Hahah, There is a lot of things against us isn’t there!? It’s quite the list. I hope you are winning any battles that you might be facing.

  3. Born To Organize July 27, 2014 at 1:35 am #

    Right now, squash bugs, but also snails, scale on the Magnolia tree and aphids. The aphids are easy to get rid of with one bag of live ladybugs. The scale is impossible. I’m battling the squash bugs by manually removing the leaves and stems with eggs on them and hand picking the larger bugs. Ick!

    You’ve got your hands full with all those critters, but given how open your space is, I’m surprised you don’t have more.

    I’ve heard of using steel mesh under the garden beds for any critters coming up from below. Also, I wonder if you need to cover some of your beds with steel mesh as well. I did that one year and it worked (ugly but effective).

    Good luck. You’ve worked so hard to get that beautiful garden.

  4. Born To Organize July 27, 2014 at 1:40 am #

    Right now, squash bugs, but also snails, scale on the Magnolia tree and aphids. The aphids are easy to get rid of with one bag of live ladybugs. The scale is impossible. I’m battling the squash bugs by manually removing the leaves and stems with eggs on them and hand picking the larger bugs. Ick!

    You’ve got your hands full with all those critters, but given how open your space is, I’m surprised you don’t have more.

    I’ve heard of using steel mesh under the garden beds for any critters coming up from below. Also, I wonder if you need to cover some of your beds with steel mesh as well. I did that one year and it worked (ugly but effective).

    Good luck. You’ve worked so hard to get that beautiful garden.

    http://www.humanesociety.org/animals/skunks/tips/solving_problems_skunks.html

    • gardensunshine August 8, 2014 at 11:05 am #

      Thanks for the link Alys, We were just up north for a week and it is definitely true that we have more wildlife by far in our back yard than we saw in the woods up there. STRANGE!! I have never bought live ladybugs, but i am always happy to see them around the garden!! That’s a good solution.

  5. Boomdeeadda July 28, 2014 at 3:57 am #

    You seem to be operating a neighbourhood buffet there. Baby skunks are totally cute aren’t they? We used to see them at the lake, mom with 2 or even three little ones all in a row behind her. I wonder if they like Garlic? What if you plant it in every bed?

    I saw a bunny in my yard yesterday. After a big rain yesterday, a robin came by to eat worms. Other than that, not too many critters around. I did find some unknown bug on my geraniums, I picked them by hand which was really icky.

    I wish you had a picture of you fat possum, he sounds so cute. Was that widdle raccoon scared? I bet his family was worried. Did you just let him go back to the forest? We’re starting to see the mosquito’s, they make me crazy! So they could fly their sorry butts to the end of the rainbow and stay there :D

    • gardensunshine August 8, 2014 at 11:03 am #

      You are so brave to be picking bugs by hand!! Ewww. :) I did let the coon go back in the forest a few miles from my house. They have an awful lot of babies you know and they love to live in my barn and poop all over it. Now that’s gross. I am with you on the mosquitoes, they always get my in the butt.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

