Ready, Set, Garden

19 Feb

My garden is all planned out! In fact I even bought all the seeds I need yesterday! YESSSS!!!!!!!!

I AM READY TO RUMBLE!!!

Wait- It’s still snowing.

Anyways, when ever it decides to stop all that crud I am ready to go!

Using SmartGardener again I planned out all the square foot garden beds.  I am super excited for this year because I have increased the plantings using their Smart Squares add on. This add on is based on a square foot model for french intensive gardening, and it allows you to choose from either square foot spacing or the regular spacing for each of the plants commonly grown in square foot gardens.  Last year there were some vegetables that I planted using regular spacing based on their program which wasted a ton of valuable growing space- broccoli being the main one.yellow zucchini

With the Smart Squares you divide your bed into sections of mostly one square foot each areas and then plant vegetables in just the right amount of space they need as in basic square foot gardening. The main advantages of the square foot system are less watering (great for drought areas), easier weeding (no long rows to wander down and less light for weeds), and a greatly reduced overall workload.

60 days in the square ft garden

I have tired to plant mainly using the square foot model on my own but there are discrepancies with how things should be planted when I looked them up.  Having everything spelled out easily with the Smart Gardener plan makes it much simpler to plan ahead and have seeds on hand.  I am also going to do more succession planting as well with thoughtful reminders from you know who!– Smart Gardener.

Screen Shot 2014-02-07 at 12.26.08 PM

The diagram above shows the same # of plants that were planted last year using the smart square add on. You can see just how much left over space there really was.

The yields in the new garden plan are still based on the number of people in my household, 2 adults and 3 children but using the Smart Squares add on.  Already the plan is going to have double the amount of yields than it did last year in the same amount of space.  CRAZY! and Exciting!

New add ons also account for shade in the yard too. I think they have thought of almost everything for me.  If they could email me when my garden was dry we would be all set! They are probably working on that. yellow zucchini

Are you ready to dig in the dirt?

I am!!!!!!- you already knew that didn’t you.  Sorry! :)

Smart Gardener Review

Garden Plan 2013

 

 

7 Responses to “Ready, Set, Garden”

  1. silverbells2012 February 19, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    When do you expect you can start?

    Am increasingly interested in raised beds. As you point out, rows can be such a pain.

  2. Boomdeeadda February 19, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

    I’m probably not going to dig in the dirt this year unless we actually buy a house with a pre-build garden ready to rock and roll. That does sound pretty much like you can’t lose. More plants, bigger yields, less weeds, awesome. Do you mulch after the plants pop up? Was it you who was planting Potato Barrels? I couldn’t tell, do you do pumpkins too? Hey did you see the Gourds Alys grew and used as bird houses? those were really cool. I felt inside one, really soft.

  3. JonesGardenBlog February 20, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

    I’m transplanting seedlings to bigger pots. Most of my tomatoes have been started and all of the peppers. They are all going into gallon pots so that they can get nice and big. The weather has been so nice I have been able to leave them outside at night. I would plant them but I have so much lettuce, kale, peas, and onions growing that I hate to pull them out! Sorry, it’s Arizona. You can give me a hard time when it’s 115 here and plants are bursting into flames. :)

  4. The Editors of Garden Variety February 22, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

    Love the garden designs you created.

  5. Geraldine March 1, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve got a great plan. How I long for a garden again. :( One of many disadvantages to living in an appt. Soon, hopefully….I wish you a bountiful harvest and lots of fun in the process. ;)

  6. gardeninacity March 9, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

    Is the ground still covered with snow in your area? We still have lots of snow, but it is starting to melt. (But more snow expected Wednesday! Yikes!) Anyhow, when the ground thaws you will definitely be ready!

    • gardensunshine March 10, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

      It’s 10 Degrees right now… but they are calling for 20 cm of snow next week. Everything is still white here. There is enough for everyone!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

