Change is Good. Right?

14 Feb

Things are looking different around here.  I knew it was going to happen sooner than later but the difference is still shocking and has left us wondering. What do we do now with this blank slate of a yard? And where do we start?

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.07.31 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.07.45 PM

The house was surrounded by 100+year old spruce trees. The trees were BIG, they were nice enough I guess but super scary in a windstorm with them being so close to the house.  At least two have fallen completely over during a storm in the past few years on a fence or between other trees. Thankfully not on anything important. The trees in the front yard had roots that were heaving what was left of the sidewalks and damaging the septic that has to be replaced this spring.

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.06.50 PM

Here is a line of spruce trees in the back yard. One of the trees was hit by lightening.  This line up of trees always drove me nuts because it blocked the view to the rest of the yard and field. Don’t box me in! Am I right? or am I right. Actually I don’t love the two that are remaining but the shade is nice in the summer.

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.06.17 PMSeven trees in total were to be cut down… in the end due to some miss communication between the workers 8 came down (far right). I was convinced by the crew that the 8th tree was on its last legs and very weak anyways. ugg.  At the time even though it was a ‘freebie’ I was rather irritated.  Honestly.  The entire event was quite stressful.  It is a dangerous job that isn’t just for anyone.  We hired a company that has worked for us before but the biggest tree in the front yard kicked his butt quite literally.  In the processes of limbing up with a chainsaw he fell out of the tree and broke his hip.  Talk about a serious mishap.

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.07.06 PM

Standing away from the house.

 

Two trees in the front yard. An oak that was 70% dead and another Spruce with a toppled top leaning towards the house.

Looking at these pictures a few months later, I don’t have any remorse for removing the trees.  They did look rough and there is much more sunlight shining through the house.  The problem is going to be that a few of my gardens are planted part shade and will now be full sun all of a sudden! SCREAM! But that’s the thing with gardening, you are never done and I for one never have it perfect. OBVIOUSLY! Not with this mess! hahahScreen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.09.37 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.08.31 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.09.23 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.08.51 PM

The last two men standing (+Laverne the cat).

I need extra strength this spring.  We didn’t even get all the wood chip cleaned up before it snowed. …Yowzers.

12 years ago today on Valentines Day we toured this house and decided to buy it! ahh to be young and in love… :)

Happy Valentines Day!

5 Responses to “Change is Good. Right?”

  1. Born To Organize February 14, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    I’m absolutely stunned at the size of your house and your property. How wonderful to have all that space. It’s never easy cutting down a tree, especially an old one, but keeping your family safe is number one.

    As for the loss of shade, perhaps you can plant boxwood shrubs or the like to create a sun-break. I’m excited to see what you do next.

    Sweet story about your house. Happy Valentine’s Day! ♥

  2. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 February 14, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    Wow – that is a big difference. I see lots of landscaping/gardening on your spring schedule. :-)

  3. Boomdeeadda February 18, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    Hi Sunshine, you’re a ‘Get it done!’ kind of girl and I’m not surprised you addressed the tree dilemma with decisiveness. I probably would have pondered it forever. Your home is just gorgeous and so country/romantic. Like the ones you see Trish Romance paint. How old is your house, it looks like a classic. I can’t believe all your snow has melted.

    • gardensunshine February 19, 2014 at 9:47 am #

      Those are fall pictures SILLY!! The snow is up to my knees everywhere, Until tomorrow when we are supposed to get a flood. :( The house was built in 1897- so it is 117 years old! it is a romantic house. I am a frilly girl at heart. As much as it drives me bonkers I can’t imagine not having it as a pain in my side. hah!

  4. Boomdeeadda February 19, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    Oh, ha ha…that makes sense. Honestly, sometimes I own that title ‘SILLY’ a little too much. hehe. Wow 117 years old. Was all the plumbing and electrical all updated when you bought it or did you have to start from scratch? I saw a house on line here that I wanted to go see, almost 100 years old but all updated. Mr B said, “no” :( He doesn’t want to own a 100 year old house. I was going to link it here for you to see, but it’s already gone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

