A Winter Herb Garden

30 Jan

The smell of fresh herbs have brought us some happiness this winter.  I brought in the self watering pots that held the herbs on the deck.  Self watering means they survived the summer heat on the deck, and that they are surviving the neglect in the house. Ha!

Screen Shot 2014-01-29 at 3.38.05 PM

They are placed by the patio door on an old laundry bench.  It has provided just enough fresh parsley, rosemary, oregano and thyme for cooking and they smell great!  Hopefully they will make it through the rest of the winter to find themselves happily back outside.

Do you have any herbs growing in doors?

And what do you do with fresh Oregano anyways? :)

12 Responses to “A Winter Herb Garden”

  1. Pride in Photos Photography January 30, 2014 at 10:19 am #

    adore these herb markers…so cute.

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

      mee too, they are timeless- from lee valley, and pretty much indestructible. Hope all is well with you!

  2. Cathy January 30, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

    Herbs are such a treasure at this time of year – I do envy your collection! I don’t get enough sunlight indoors for herbs in winter, but I do have a small bay tree and some rosemary that I left outside this winter and they are still doing well. :D

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

      I am so envious of your bay tree! You are so lucky that those grow where you are. It’s not fair that I can’t have one!! :) Do you use the leaves a lot?

      • Cathy January 30, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

        It’s still quite small, so I have to ration myself! I don’t use it in the winter as the leaves seem to lose their aroma. It’s in a large pot on the balcony, ready to be whipped indoors if we have a hard frost! I’ll have to write about it in the summer! (Aah, summer – that’s a nice thought… ;-) )

  3. {Main St. Cuisine} January 30, 2014 at 5:29 pm #

    I would love to find a sunny spot to have a little grouping of herbs in the window like you do! I may have to try a few out and see if any survive. I have lots of oregano growing outdoors spring-fall. I use it in sauces, stews, Greek dishes and to top off pizza.

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

      I don’t doubt that you will have some luck! I guess i should use the oregano more… a great idea for sauce, stews and pizza which I do make on occasion. I wish I made greek dishes, that sounds the most delicious!

  4. Born To Organize January 30, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    I used to grow herbs indoors, especially basil, but now grow them outdoors in the summer months. I love your pots on the bench. Lovely display.

  5. Boomdeeadda February 6, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    OK, first off “I love the wash tube bench”! I’ve spotted a similar one at the antique mall and didn’t get it. Silly silly me. I don’t have any herbs growing. I’ve bought several basils but the cats munch it down to a wee stem and I turf it. I do however have a lovely stack of little plastic green pots now. :D

    • gardensunshine February 13, 2014 at 8:53 am #

      Basil eating cats eh? How sophisticated. I guess i do remember my cats getting into it when I brought it inside too, and it is no longer alive now. CATS! love em, but they make me crazy….

  6. Erin February 6, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

    I had a lovely little Italian herb garden growing until I got a kitten that likes to sit in it. I don’t want to eat anything she’s been sitting in or munching on… On a side note, my dish garden also got the heave ho out the garage door because I was tired of cleaning up leaves and dirt. The only plants in my house now are my fake orchids and one lonely African violet which is looking a little sad now that I’ve moved it out of harm’s way.

    • gardensunshine February 13, 2014 at 8:57 am #

      haha, Erin. That’s Winnies yard now I guess. Pretty soon she should be too big to sit in it hopefully! Last Saturday morning I woke up to a HUGE crash and Jag had knocked over a big ceramic pot that had what was left of a fern in it all over the floor and carpet. Everything smashed to bits. I knew I should have given up on that plant long before that happened but I was thinking that I would be the one to win against the cats. WHAT PUNKS! Gesh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

