Do Flowers Really Exist?

29 Jan

We are slowly inching towards 10 hours a day of sunshine by Feb 4th… No this is not enough sunshine but it will have to do. :)

Screen Shot 2014-01-29 at 3.12.09 PMMy garden at the present time.

backyard winter 2014

I am LONGING for spring at the moment.  I don’t care how much work it is, how tired it makes me… I am just so tired of being COLD~!  This feels like the longest winter in history at the moment and there are ~ How many more months to go!?  I have three full pages written of things I want to do outside this year.  Changes to make, bulbs I am waiting to see pop up etc.  I miss everything green!

I was just looking back at some of the photos this year.  Its remarkable to me the changes that can happen in ones own back yard over the course of a year!

Thank you to everyone who follows along with this blog.  Its initial intention was only to amuse myself and I have made some wonderful friends along along the way. I love hearing from everyone who leaves a comment. It makes my day!

High hopes to us all for the year 2014 ahead.  Keep warm.

Diane

12 Responses to “Do Flowers Really Exist?”

  1. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 January 29, 2014 at 3:28 pm #

    Our landscape here in New Hampshire looks just like yours. The only place I see flowers is on other blogs. :-)

  2. Cathy January 29, 2014 at 4:35 pm #

    Well, I share your doubts… when looking at summer photos of my garden at this time of year I really cannot believe anything will ever flower again… But it will! And we WILL survive the winter again. :D Glad you at least have some sunshine… that snowy view is lovely.

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

      I know… supposedly we will survive! It is so funny how the concept of spring and summer seems totally impossible to exist right now doesn’t it?! It’s amazing!

  3. Boomdeeadda January 29, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    Your yard is so welcoming and homey. I love all the personal touches, like the yellow wheel barrow filled with plants and the window box on the shed. Your garden totem of reclaimed vintage wares is fantastic too. I’m still collecting the perfect ‘stuff’ for my own. It is hard to go so long without puttering in the yard and garden when you love it so much. As you probably know, we’re away getting a teeny winter break on Maui. We’ve had mixed weather but still very relaxing and still warm. We had so much crazy cold weather in December but January in Edmonton has been above normal. I guess we shouldn’t complain about the snow, poor Alys lives in an area declaring a drought. The driest in 400 years in California, that’s pretty serious stuff. It might mean no water for urban gardening. Crossing my fingers for a normal year for us and rain for CA xK

    • Born To Organize January 29, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

      xoxoxo

      • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

        I hope you get some RAIN Alys. No rain equals no tulips equals total drag… among other things.

      • Born To Organize January 30, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

        Yes! So true. We had a tiny bit of rain over night, but nothing during the day. I’m happy for what we got, but we sure need more of it. I can’t believe we’re ending the month wish so little rain. It’s really been strange.

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

      Are you still in Maui? Hasn’t it been like FOREVER? Hope you are enjoying yourself and soaking up the heat big time!! Your weather has been very strange, I cannot imagine going back and forth from one extreme to the next. At least we have just been stuck on cold. I am sure you don’t even register the word cold at the moment…. say what?
      Poor Alys indeed. Thats not good at all!!

  4. Born To Organize January 29, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

    I was just wondering about you yesterday, and here you are. Will you look at that snow! Sorry to hear you are so cold and miserable. Can you take a short vacation to someplace warm any time soon?

    I love your garden. I hope spring arrives quickly. We, on the other hand, are still wondering where our winter ran off to, as it certainly isn’t here.

    • gardensunshine January 30, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

      I just spent a week in Cancun in early January- ha, and it was wonderful, so hot! But seems like a pretty long stretch ahead yet… I didn’t want to come home… next time I think I will stay longer.

      • Born To Organize January 30, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

        Lovely! I visited Cancun over twenty years ago. What a beautiful place. I’m glad you got away for awhile.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

